Category: Awards

Hall of Fame

The fourth Hall of Fame night was held at Mosman Park Golf Club on Wednesday the 24th of November 2021. Over 130 guests attended to witness the two newest inductees, with a slight difference this year. The first inductee was the 1956 Men’s State Team, which are the first and only team ever to win the Australian Teams Title. The four members of that team are Ross George, Dawson Hamilton, Clark Johnson and John Freedman. The night was extra special as John (90 years of age) accepted this honour on behalf of his team. The second inductee was Sue Hillier, due to her outstanding squash career reaching a national ranking of six and representing WA in three winning state teams as well as her two World Masters Titles and numerous Australians Master’s Titles.







2020 WA Squash Award Nominations

2020 has been an extraordinary year.  We are lucky to play a game where we meet some fantastic people who go above and beyond for our clubs and sport.

It is now time for your CLUB to put in their nominations for the 2020 Awards:

  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Referee of the Year
  • Junior Player of the Year
  • Junior of the Year

Nominations close 18 December 2020.  Only ONE nomination per category per club (ie: your club will need to choose who to put up for an award).  Speak to your Club President  who has more information.

Erin Classen has been granted a Tier 3 Scholarship from Sport Australia Hall of Fame

Congratulations to WA junior Erin Classen on receiving a scholarship for 2021.   This scholarship will help her reach the highest level of squash.  This program provides financial support and acknowledges the incredible efforts Erin has put in, who has shown compassion, athletic drive and determination to chase her dream.

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame seeks to inspire the next generation of Australians to achieve their potential in both sport and life. The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship and Mentoring Program is one such opportunity that we have to do this.  Click here to find out more about Erin:

Scholarship Holders

Congratulations to Grace Gelman and Aidan Mascaro who were awarded the Sportsmanship Awards at the recent WA Squash State Junior Zone Team Championships

During the championships each Zone awards votes to their opposition for the most outstanding performance based on match result, improvement, courage and sportsmanship.  These awards are named after two people who have a long history in helping our Juniors – Joyce Barnett and Chase Renner.

Congratulations to Grace Gelman (Southern Stars) for winning the Joyce Barnett Award and Aidan Mascaro (Central Champs) for winning the Chas Renner Award.


Congratulations to Lyn Chandler and Sue Cowell on their recent WA Squash Life Membership

At the recent WA Squash AGM both Lyn Chandler and Sue Cowell were awarded WA Squash Life Membership.  These ladies work tirelessly for their clubs but its the work they have undertaken for WA Squash that makes them worthy recipients due to the longevity of their services.  Lyn and Sue have such a long list of achievements that couldn’t be put here, you will be able to read more in the next SWAN newsletter.

Congratulations to you both.

Juniors Erin Classen and Oscar Curtis were nominated for 2019 WA Junior Sports Star of the Year

The recent WA RAC Sports Star of the Year Awards were held at Optus Stadium on 13 February.   Erin Classen and Oscar Curtis were nominated for the 2019 Hyundai Junior Sports Star award.  Although they were not selected as a finalist for the award, WA Squash would like to congratulate these juniors for their outstanding  achievements last year.

Erin attended the event along with the 1977 winner Dean Williams.

Congratulations to Broome Squash Club voted Best Club in the Broome 2019 Sports Awards

2019 Broome club of the YearThis year, the Broome Squash Club has been recognised for its commitment to the community and has taken out the coveted Broome Sports Award for Best Club for 2019. The club was overwhelmed by the award and grateful for the recognition for efforts to maximise the sports exposure in the community and at all times maintaining the ethos of the club – “sportsmanship is everything”. Bursting to capacity the club has 85 registered senior and 40 junior players. It’s hard to believe with only two courts, the club is able to provide enough court time to support the growing interest in the sport.

More information in the next SWAN newsletter.

Greg Chan wins MC Hazel Award at the recent Australian Junior Championships

MC Hazel G Chan

Congratulations to Greg Chan from Vic Park Squash Club (who moved to the Gold Coast this year to further his Squash career as part of the Squash Australia Winning Edge program) who was awarded the MC Hazel Award for Boys Overall Best Player at the AJC this week which was held in Davenport.

  • MC Hazel votes are to be awarded for the most outstanding on court performances Votes are awarded to players for performance based on match result, improvement, courage and sportsmanship.


WA Squash 2019 Award Nominations close 6 October

This is a reminder that the Award Nominations sent out 10 September close on 6 October.

  • Awards:  Junior of the Year and Junior Player of the Year
  • Coach of the Year,  Referee of the Year and Volunteer of the Year

Please nominate on the forms sent to your clubs.  Only one nomination in each category from your club.


WA Squash 2019 award nominations now open

WA Squash has sent all clubs and presidents the forms to nominate the:

  • Junior of the Year
  • Junior Player of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Referee of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year

Please contact your club to nominate those worthy of these awards.  We have so many fantastic people in our clubs helping out so why not nominate them.  (please nominate as a club).  Nominations close 6 October 2019.

2018 Award winners

  • Junior of the Year – Trey Mackenzie (Esperance)
  • Junior Player of the Year – Greg Chan (Vic Pk)
  • Coach of Year – Damon Macmillan (Mirrabooka) & Sue Hillier (Vic Pk)
  • Referee of the Year – Neil Butler
  • Volunteer of the Year – Brendan Marsh (Madd/Gos)