Category: Pennant

Junior Pennants is back

Junior Pennants started 7 March 2021 at Belmont Squash Centre.  12 teams have entered from the following clubs: Belmont, Bluegum, Cambridge, Madd/Gos, Marmion, Mirrabooka and Vic Park.

For several juniors it was their first competitive match, everyone showed great sportsmanship.  Thank you to Josh Fiorentino, WASA players Michaela Pratt and Remi Young for volunteering to help the players with refereeing.

Thank you to the parents who also helped out.  For results:

Next week is Mirrabooka at 1:30pm 14th March.

Australian First as WA Completes full pennants season in 2020 Covid year

Ladies State Grade Final – Cambridge Why So Serious defeated  Mirrabooka 1 – 2 matches to 1 (8 games to 4 games)

Lead by Cambridge No 1  Pascale Louka who overcame the experienced Johanna Yue 3/1, No 2 Hayley Chiu lost a close 5 setter to Joanne Ttophi and Captain Michelle Hodge defeated Prue O’Niell in 3 to clinch to fist State Grade win by Cambridge in over a decade. (picture above: WA Squash Board Member Trevor Cruickshank presenting the shield to Captain Michelle Hodge with Tracey Marshall and Hayley Chiu).

Mens State Grade Final – Mirrabooka 1 defeated Vic Park – 2 matches to 1 (7games to 4 games)

The highlight of the night was the match between No 2 Dylan Classen and Jack Hillier.  Leading 2/1 Hillier was looking to cause a huge upset but could not keep up the intensity for the last two games which saw Classen win in 5.  (picture above: WA Squash Board Member and Treasure Neil Butler presented the winning shield to Captain Scott Jerome with Gavin Treacy, Dave Beattie and Dylan Classen).

For full results see:

Monday Night League

Monday Night Pennant

Tuesday Night Pennant

Tuesday Night Ladies

Wednesday Day League

Thursday Night League


Marmion and Vic Park win State Grade Pennant

Marmion defeated Mirrabooka to win the Ladies State Grade Grand final last night.

J McLean d T Marshall 15/9, 15/11. 15/8.

M Hodge d L Roberts 15/7, 15/7, 15/11

H Slyth lost to D Webster 18/20, 12/15, 15/5, 15/8,14/16

Vic Park won their first Mens State Grand Final defeating Subi-Kings

D Tasker lost to T Cowell  – 11/13, 8/11, 10/12

A Jin d C Diggins  – 3/0

L McVey d D Edgar – 11/4, 11/6, 3/11, 16/14