Category: Uncategorized

WA Squash Christmas Hours

WA Squash wishes everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. We look forward to seeing everyone back on court next year.

Please be advised that the office will be closed from Wednesday the 22nd of December until Wednesday the 5th of January.

Hillier and Corren win 2020 West Coast Open

2020 West Coast Open winners

The West Coast Open was held this weekend at Squashworld Brentwood along with the junior New Years Bash.  Sue Hillier took out the Womens Open defeating Amanda Hopps 3/0 and Mike Corren won the Mens Open defeating Tim Cowell 3/0.  For full results

The New Years Bash Division One Girls was won be Erin Classen defeating Pascale Louka 3/0 and in the Boys Division One Remi Young won the boys in a tough five setter against Dylan Classen.  For full results click here :

Mirrabooka Open Day

On the Friday the 12th of July Mirrabooka Squash Club sponsored $500 to its first ever Kids play free day, with coaching! 35 kids from the age of 6-14 attended the event organised by Serena Richardson. It was great to see kids enjoying games and learning skills. A lovely way to introduce the sport to the next generation of squashies.

Here’s how the day panned out. 9.00am was sign in and introduction to the coaching staff followed by fun games such as scarecrow, tag, crabs and crocs to warm everyone up. After this and until morning tea was skills introduction focused on starting with easier hits at the front of the court moving further backwards into drives and serves, with a few boasts thrown in too. Following the 10.45am morning tea (beautiful spread) the kids were introduced to game-play with a King of the Court format across 12 courts. Once the game play was completed the kids were given some lunch. Followed by a presentation of gifts sponsored by Andy at Schweppes.

A very successful event which will hopefully return to the calendar in future school holidays!

Head coaches: Tim Cowell and Damon MacMillan
Coaching, Kitchen and Organisational Volunteers: Daniel Richardson, Dylan Classen, Erin Classen, Leila Kirkpatrick, Nicholas Doyle, Olivia Lindsey, Oscar Lindsey and Pascale Louka