Oscar Curtis wins U15, 2019 Australian Junior Open Title in April

2019-04-21AJO Michelle Martin + Oscar -

16 Juniors from WA Squash travelled to Sydney to play in the recent Australian Junior Open at Thornleigh Squash Centre.

Oscar Curtis played fellow West Australian Dylan Classen in the U15 boys final, winning 11/8, 11/5, 12/10.

Isla Harris from Moora lost the U13 girls final to No 1 seed Maja Maziuk (NSW) 11-7, 11-8, 7-11, 11-9.

For all results https://www.sportyhq.com/tournament/view/Australian-Junior-Open-2019


Learning and Development Opportunity for your CLUB from Sport and Recreation


A webinar is a seminar or presentation that takes place on the internet and allows participants in different locations, through their computers or ipads to see and hear the presenter, learn information on a particular topic and to ask questions.

NEXT WEBINAR – Register Quickly places are limited

Financial Management – 15 May 2019 Register – Click HERE

This workshop is designed for anyone in your club that assists in the effective and efficient operations of your sport or recreation club and who is committed to improving the organisation and how it does things. The workshop will cover the following:

  • What is a budget and the role it plays for your club
  • Understand how to manage club funds – The role of the treasurer;
  • Planning for setting and operating budgets aligned to club activities;
  • Investigate the keys to financial stability – how to raise funds for the club;
  • Understand how to assess the financial position of the club.

 Marketing and Sponsorship – 29 May 2019 Register – Click  HERE

For more details of the topics covered in the workshop click HERE

 Effective Teams – 12 June 2019 Register – Click HERE

For more details of the topics covered in the workshop click HERE

Once participants are registered they will be communicated to by the organiser of the webinar and will just need to click on a link to take part.

Oceania Junior Championships

Oceania photo

6 players from WA Squash entered the 2019 Oceania Junior Championships held in Auckland this month.

U19 Abel Jin, U17 Greg Chan, U15 Oscar Curtis and Daniel Marsh, U11 Alex and Eric Marsh.

Oscar Curtis put in a dominant display in the under-15 boys competition, going through the tournament without dropping a game.  Curtis beat New Zealand’s Apa Fatialofa 11-8 11-1 11-6 in the final.

In an all-Australian final, WA’s Eric Marsh defeated Queensland’s Nickolai Wolpers 11-8 11-3 11-5 to claim the under-11 boys crown.

For further results click here https://www.tournamentsoftware.com/sport/draws.aspx?id=2647CC96-D1A5-4EA4-A395-F61990D8C7E3

Australian Junior Trans Tasman Team

Full Aus Team

WA Squash had four players selected in the Australian Team who played against NZ at the Remuera Rackets Club in Auckland this month for the Trans Tasman series.

U19 Abel Jin (Vic Pk), U17 Greg Chan (Vic Pk), U15 Oscar Curtis (Mirrabooka) and U15 Daniel Marsh (Madd/Gos)

NZ won the first test 12 -6 and went on to win the second test 13-5 to claim their fifth series in a row.

Outstandingly, Oscar Curtis  finished the series undefeated along with fellow Australians, Ethan Eyles (U19 Boys) and Alex Hayden (U19 girls)2019 O Curtis, G Chan, A Jin & D Marsh (2).